Turn around:

Icarus_backicarus_frontIcarus_side

So during the modelling process I realised that my turn around sheets were REALLY innacurate. So some pieces had to be a compromise between front and back.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

In the end I am pretty glad the way it turned out (rendered image). Although I am not sure how to preview through renderer with preview mode on.

test_1.png

 

Ship model

For ship model I used a reference picture which I found during my research.

ship_2ship_1

At first I thought texturing everything by hand as in cutting UV maps, transporting them to photoshop and back to maya, but texturing ship didn’t turn out so well.

UV maps

ship_uv_2uv_map_2

I did manage to texture character.

uv_map_whatOMFG

But somewhere in the middle of texturing process I decided that maybe it would be faster if I would just make a texture and apply it. Here are the textures which I had in mind.

 

But it turned out awful. So then I thought that maybe I should download a texture file from internet.

It turned out even worse.
In the end I chose to use blin texture with green shade. As in lighting setting you can’t really determine what colour the ship is.

